Saxenda Ireland

Saxenda in Ireland: price, HSE cover and how to get it

Saxenda in Ireland is usually paid for privately; medical card or Drugs Payment Scheme cover requires approval under the HSE managed-access rules. This guide explains that limited cover, dated pharmacy prices and regulated prescription routes.

Decision snapshot

What to check before you book

Format

Patient decision point

Daily injection

Saxenda is usually taken daily, unlike weekly Wegovy or Mounjaro.

✓

Cost

Patient decision point

Check current monthly price

Provider pricing and medicine availability can change; confirm before booking.

✓

Alternative

Patient decision point

Compare weekly options

Some patients ask about Wegovy or Mounjaro because dosing is weekly.

✓
Compiled and edited by John Fox. Updated . Sources and corrections.

What is Saxenda?

Saxenda is the brand name for liraglutide, a GLP-1 receptor agonist used for weight management in suitable adults. It is injected daily and should only be used after a clinician reviews suitability and contraindications.

Saxenda price in Ireland

These are the Saxenda prices that Irish pharmacies publish on their own websites, checked on 12 October 2026. They are medicine prices. Private Saxenda costs also depend on the provider, dose, pharmacy supply and consultation fees, so always confirm whether a displayed price includes the medical consultation, prescription handling, dispensing and delivery.

Saxenda prices published by Irish pharmacies, checked 12 October 2026
PharmacyPackPriceWhat the price covers
Pure Pharmacy (purepharmacy.ie)Not stated on the page€258.50Medicine (dispensing); prescription required
Healthwave (healthwave.ie)5 x 3 ml pens€299Medicine only; cold-chain packaging included; needles not included

The full list, with Wegovy and Mounjaro alongside, is on the pharmacy price list. To add consultation and delivery to a medicine price, use the cost planner.

Can you get Saxenda for free, on the medical card or the Drugs Payment Scheme?

For most people, no. The HSE has reimbursed Saxenda under the medical card (GMS) and Drugs Payment schemes since 1 January 2023, but only for a narrow group and only after an individual application is approved.

  • Who is covered: adults aged 18 to 74 with a BMI of 35 or more who also have prediabetes and a high risk of cardiovascular disease, using Saxenda alongside a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity.
  • Who applies: the prescriber, for each patient, through the HSE Primary Care Reimbursement Service. Approval has to be in place before the prescription is written for reimbursement. You cannot apply yourself.
  • How long it lasts: the first approval runs for six months. To continue, the prescriber must show a loss of at least 5% of starting body weight after 12 weeks on the 3.0 mg daily dose. Support runs for up to two years from the first application. If treatment is to continue after that, the prescriber has to make a new application, so ask your GP or the HSE what applies to you.
  • Under 18s: the HSE lists a separate protocol for adolescents from 1 February 2026, applied for by specialist consultants.

Approval does not always mean no cost at all. The Drugs Payment Scheme covers approved medicines, and the HSE tells people to apply for it if they pay more than €80 a month. What you would pay under either scheme is a question for the HSE or your pharmacist. Without approval, Saxenda is a private prescription paid in full.

The licence is wider than the HSE scheme: Saxenda is licensed for adults with a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more with a weight-related condition. That is why many people who can be prescribed Saxenda privately are not covered by the HSE. Rules change, so ask your GP or check with the HSE before assuming either way.

Read the HSE reimbursement guide for the source documents, and the medical card and Drugs Payment Scheme guide for the approved-item rules and charges.

Buying Saxenda online in Ireland

Saxenda is a prescription medicine, so a lawful online route is a consultation first. A prescriber reviews your medical history, current medicines and contraindications, and a registered pharmacy dispenses the medicine if a prescription is issued. A consultation never guarantees a prescription.

Before paying, ask whether Saxenda is currently offered, who the prescriber is, which pharmacy dispenses, and what the medicine, delivery and any follow-up review cost. The provider comparison lists the services we have checked and what each one publishes. Avoid any seller that offers Saxenda without a prescription. The HPRA explains the dangers of buying prescription medicines online.

How Saxenda differs from Wegovy and Mounjaro

Saxenda is a daily GLP-1 option, while Wegovy and Mounjaro are weekly injections. Many newer provider pathways focus on weekly medicines, but Saxenda can still be relevant for some patients depending on clinical suitability, availability and prescriber advice.

  • Saxenda: liraglutide, injected once a day. The dose starts at 0.6 mg and rises in weekly steps to 3.0 mg a day.
  • Wegovy: semaglutide, injected once a week.
  • Mounjaro: tirzepatide, injected once a week.

Read Saxenda vs Wegovy for the daily and weekly routines side by side, or the main guides to Wegovy in Ireland and Mounjaro in Ireland.

Provider questions to ask

Ask whether Saxenda is currently offered, how daily dosing is supported, what happens if side effects occur, and whether a weekly alternative would be more suitable for your medical history and budget.

Sources

GLP-1.ie is not a clinic or pharmacy and this page is not medical advice. A prescriber decides whether any medicine suits you.

GLP-1.ie is independent. No provider pays us today, for a listing, a ranking or a referral. If that changes, this note will say so, and payment will never change the order or remove a safety warning. See the ranking rules.

SmartScripts

smartscripts.ie

Irish online-doctor route. Prescription is sent by Healthmail to a chosen pharmacy; a partner pharmacy can arrange delivery.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€20
Mounjaro
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Wegovy
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Visit SmartScriptsFact freshness: checked 14 Oct 2026 (smartscripts.ie)

HealthHero

ROI GP Route

healthhero.ie

Irish GP-led service with IMC-registered doctors and scheduled follow-ups. Prescriptions go by Healthmail to a participating Republic of Ireland pharmacy, which validates BMI before the first dispense and sets the medicine price.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€50 / €35 follow-up
Mounjaro
Not named on public page
Wegovy
Not named on public page
Visit HealthHeroFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (healthhero.ie)

ZAVA

zavamed.com/ie

Digital consultation with a Healthmail prescription sent to a chosen pharmacy. Collection or pharmacy courier may be available.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€21.50
Mounjaro
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Wegovy
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Visit ZAVAFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (zavamed.com)

myBMI

my-bmi.ie

Illustrative totals from myBMI’s pages combine consultation, €149 partner-pharmacy treatment and €8.49 courier. *Standard Wegovy doses 0.25–2.4 mg; the 7.2 mg illustrative total is €326.49, recorded on 10 October 2026. On 13 October 2026, myBMI labelled its partner-pharmacy prices illustrative: its medicine pages showed €105 for treatment, conflicting with €149 on its treatment-plan page. The 7.2 mg example remained illustrative and conflicting when rechecked on 15 October 2026. Confirm the total with the provider.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€45–€235 by medicine and dose
Mounjaro
€282.49–€392.49 illustrative total
Wegovy
€202.49–€222.49 illustrative total*
Visit myBMIFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (my-bmi.ie)

LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor

lloydsonlinedoctor.ie

Online-doctor route with pharmacy collection or Healthwave delivery where available. Medicine is paid for separately.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€21.50
Mounjaro
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Wegovy
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Visit LloydsPharmacy Online DoctorFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (lloydsonlinedoctor.ie)

BeyondBMI

beyondbmi.ie

Specialist consultation followed, if chosen, by a 90-day programme. The programme is €399 upfront or three interest-free payments of €150 (€450 total); medication is paid separately at pharmacy cost.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€89 consultation; 90-day programme €399 upfront or €450 in instalments
Mounjaro
Not named on public page
Wegovy
Not named on public page
Visit BeyondBMIFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (beyondbmi.ie)

WeightLossInjections.ie

NI Pharmacy Route

weightlossinjections.ie

The public site describes a prescription-only consultation service in which an Irish-registered doctor reviews suitability and a separate Northern Ireland pharmacy dispenses and charges for medicine. The public booking path showed a working €30 Typeform consultation entry when checked.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public consultation route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Consult
€30 / €30 repeat
Mounjaro
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Wegovy
Prescription route; pharmacy price separate
Visit WeightLossInjections.ieFact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026 (weightlossinjections.ie)
ProviderConsultationMounjaroWegovyNotesAction
SmartScripts
smartscripts.ie
Fact freshness: checked 14 Oct 2026
SmartScripts source (smartscripts.ie)
€20Prescription route; pharmacy price separatePrescription route; pharmacy price separate

Irish online-doctor route. Prescription is sent by Healthmail to a chosen pharmacy; a partner pharmacy can arrange delivery.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit SmartScripts
HealthHero
healthhero.ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
HealthHero source (healthhero.ie)
ROI GP Route
€50 / €35 follow-upNot named on public pageNot named on public page

Irish GP-led service with IMC-registered doctors and scheduled follow-ups. Prescriptions go by Healthmail to a participating Republic of Ireland pharmacy, which validates BMI before the first dispense and sets the medicine price.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit HealthHero
ZAVA
zavamed.com/ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
ZAVA source (zavamed.com)
€21.50Prescription route; pharmacy price separatePrescription route; pharmacy price separate

Digital consultation with a Healthmail prescription sent to a chosen pharmacy. Collection or pharmacy courier may be available.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit ZAVA
myBMI
my-bmi.ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
myBMI source (my-bmi.ie)
€45–€235 by medicine and dose€282.49–€392.49 illustrative total€202.49–€222.49 illustrative total*

Illustrative totals from myBMI’s pages combine consultation, €149 partner-pharmacy treatment and €8.49 courier. *Standard Wegovy doses 0.25–2.4 mg; the 7.2 mg illustrative total is €326.49, recorded on 10 October 2026. On 13 October 2026, myBMI labelled its partner-pharmacy prices illustrative: its medicine pages showed €105 for treatment, conflicting with €149 on its treatment-plan page. The 7.2 mg example remained illustrative and conflicting when rechecked on 15 October 2026. Confirm the total with the provider.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit myBMI
LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor
lloydsonlinedoctor.ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor source (lloydsonlinedoctor.ie)
€21.50Prescription route; pharmacy price separatePrescription route; pharmacy price separate

Online-doctor route with pharmacy collection or Healthwave delivery where available. Medicine is paid for separately.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor
BeyondBMI
beyondbmi.ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
BeyondBMI source (beyondbmi.ie)
€89 consultation; 90-day programme €399 upfront or €450 in instalmentsNot named on public pageNot named on public page

Specialist consultation followed, if chosen, by a 90-day programme. The programme is €399 upfront or three interest-free payments of €150 (€450 total); medication is paid separately at pharmacy cost.

Source confidence: public info

Route status: Public route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit BeyondBMI
WeightLossInjections.ie
weightlossinjections.ie
Fact freshness: checked 23 Sept 2026
WeightLossInjections.ie source
NI Pharmacy Route
€30 / €30 repeatPrescription route; pharmacy price separatePrescription route; pharmacy price separate

The public site describes a prescription-only consultation service in which an Irish-registered doctor reviews suitability and a separate Northern Ireland pharmacy dispenses and charges for medicine. The public booking path showed a working €30 Typeform consultation entry when checked.

Source confidence: confirmed

Route status: Public consultation route listed · checked 23 Sept 2026

Visit WeightLossInjections.ie
Show 13 more Irish consultation services (fees and routes, no medicine detail)
  1. Bua Health

    Pay-monthly online GP programme

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · buahealth.ie

    Consultation€50 a month, consultations included

  2. Dr.Online

    Online GP service

    Facts checked 27 Oct 2026 · dronline.ie

    ConsultationFrom €55 weight consultation; €45 follow-up

  3. Everwell

    Monthly doctor-led programme with NI pharmacy delivery

    Facts checked 9 Oct 2026 · joineverwell.ie

    Consultation€149 a month programme fee (reduced rate; listed as €189)

  4. GP24

    Irish online GP weight-management service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · gp24.ie

    Consultation€85 initial video consultation; €55 monthly check-in

  5. DocOnCall

    Irish online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · doconcall.ie

    Consultation€54.99 weight consultation

  6. GetYourGP

    Irish online GP service

    Facts checked 7 Oct 2026 · getyourgp.ie

    ConsultationFrom €50 weight consultation

  7. GP Appointment

    Online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · gpappointment.ie

    Consultation€35–€70 weight consultation

  8. Medical Weight Management Clinic

    GP-led obesity clinic with online consultations

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · medicalweightmanagementclinic.ie

    Consultation€200 initial consultation

  9. Webdoctor

    Irish online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · webdoctor.ie

    Consultation€50 online request / €90 video consultation

  10. GPLine

    Online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · gpline.ie

    Consultation€100 weight consultation

  11. My Best Weight

    Specialist obesity clinic with virtual appointments

    Facts checked 22 Oct 2026 · mybestweight.ie

    Consultation€200 initial specialist assessment

  12. DrOnline247

    Online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · dronline247.ie

    ConsultationFee not published

  13. GPdoctor.ie

    Online GP service

    Facts checked 2 Oct 2026 · gpdoctor.ie

    Consultation€40 general consultation

Educational tools, not a clinical assessment. The cost planner keeps unconfirmed fees unknown.

Could GLP-1 treatment suit you?

Three questions, about two minutes. See your BMI band against the criteria Irish providers publish.

Check your eligibility

Questions before choosing

How much does Saxenda cost in Ireland?

On 12 October 2026, Pure Pharmacy lists €258.50 (pack size not stated); Healthwave lists €299 for 5 x 3 ml pens. These are the pharmacies' own published medicine prices. A private consultation, prescription and delivery can cost extra, so confirm the full total before paying.

Can I get Saxenda for free in Ireland?

Not in most cases. The HSE reimburses Saxenda under the medical card and Drugs Payment Scheme only for adults aged 18 to 74 with a BMI of 35 or more who also have prediabetes and a high risk of cardiovascular disease, and only after the prescriber applies for that patient and the application is approved. A separate HSE protocol covers adolescents, applied for by specialist consultants. Everyone else pays privately. Ask your GP, or check with the HSE, whether you could qualify.

Can I buy Saxenda online in Ireland?

Only with a prescription. A regulated online route starts with a prescriber reviewing your medical history, and a registered pharmacy then dispenses the medicine. Avoid any seller that offers Saxenda without a prescription or a medical review.

Is Saxenda available in Ireland?

Saxenda may be available through regulated private prescribing pathways, but provider availability changes. Confirm directly with the provider before paying for a consultation.

Is Saxenda the same as Wegovy?

No. Saxenda contains liraglutide and is usually injected daily. Wegovy contains semaglutide and is usually injected weekly for weight management.

Is Saxenda better than Mounjaro?

Not generally by trial averages, but the best option depends on clinical suitability, tolerability, cost, availability and prescriber advice. A clinician should compare options for your circumstances.

Do I need a prescription for Saxenda in Ireland?

Yes. Saxenda is a prescription medicine and should only be used after a qualified prescriber reviews your medical history and suitability.